Honors and Awards

Franklin Allen has been elected a Fellow of the British Academy.       ...view all

Week of August 7, 2017

Franklin Allen has been elected a Fellow of the British Academy. Allen, a professor of finance and economics at Imperial College Business School in London, was recognized for his research on issues relating to financial crises, corporate finance, and financial innovation.

Week of July 31, 2017

Jeffrey R. Alves was inducted as a Wilford L. White Fellow at the 62nd Annual International Council for Small Business (ICSB) Conference. Alves was recognized for his commitment to entrepreneurship education; his advocacy for micro-, small-, and medium-sized enterprises; and his leadership in ICSB as past president and board member. Currently Alves is a professor of entrepreneurship and past dean at the Jay S. Sidhu School of Business and Leadership at Wilkes University, where he also is the former director of the Allan P. Kirby Center for Free Enterprise and Entrepreneurship.

Week of July 17, 2017

Two business professors received Excellence in Teaching/Training Awards for Online Technology–Higher Education at the 2017 United States Distance Learning Association’s international awards program. Julia Cronin-Gilmore is an associate professor of business at Bellevue University’s College of Business in Nebraska. Kinda Wilson is a marketing professor at the Spears School of Business at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater. For information about all the winners, visit www.usdla.org/awards/2017-awards-winners.

AACSB International’s Women Administrators Management Education (WAME) affinity group has awarded its 2017 Patricia M. Flynn Distinguished Woman in Business Education Award to Susan McTiernan, dean at the Mario J. Gabelli School of Business at Roger Williams University in Bristol, Rhode Island. The award, created in 2016, recognizes women who have helped other women advance in business education.

The Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis has given its William F. Sharpe Award for Scholarship in Financial Research to David Easley, Henry Scarborough Professor of Social Science and professor of information science at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York; Maureen O’Hara, professor of finance and holder of the Robert W. Purcell Professorship of Management at Cornell; and Liyan Yang, associate professor of finance at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management in Canada. The award honors the best paper of the year published in the journal. The co-authors were honored for their paper “Differential Access to Price Information in Financial Markets,” which examines how the direct sale of market data by exchanges affects price discovery, the cost of capital, return volatility, market liquidity, and trader welfare.

Another scholar at the Rotman School also was recently honored for contributions to his field. The Canadian Academic Accounting Association recognized Partha Mohanram, professor of accounting, with its 2017 Haim Falk Award for Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Thought at its annual conference in Montreal.