White House Recognizes Five Hispanic Scholars

Professors honored for their service to their teaching and communities.
In September, eight professors in the U.S. were recognized as part of the White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics. Five of them are business professors, including Alberto Rubio-Sanchez of the University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio, Texas; Rowena Ortiz-Walters of the School of Business and Economics at the State University of New York in Plattsburgh; Cinthia B. Satornino of Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts; Rebeca Perren of the California State University in San Marcos; and José Antonio Rosa of Iowa State University in Ames.

The latter four professors were participants in The PhD Project, which works to create diversity in management education.

The White House Initiative, which includes an online campaign called #LatinosTeach, seeks to demonstrate that Hispanics are dedicating themselves to serving their communities through teaching. For more information, visit sites.ed.gov/hispanicinitiative.