Honors and Awards

Recognition for people and institutions.

The Aspen Institute Business & Society Program based in New York, New York, has announced the winners of its 2019 Ideas Worth Teaching awards. Among the professors honored for their courses are Diane-Laure Arjaliés of Western University’s Ivey Business School in London, Ontario, Canada; Sarah Birrell Ivory of the University of Edinburgh Business School in Scotland; Joshua Skov of the University of Oregon’s Lundquist College of Business in Eugene; and Barry M. Mitnick at Pitt Business at the University of Pittsburgh in Pennsylvania.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) at the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia has announced the winners of the WRDS Best Paper Award. They include Andreas Fuster of the Swiss National Bank in Zürich; Paul Goldsmith-Pinkham of the Yale School of Management in New Haven, Connecticut; and Tarun Ramadorai and Ansgar Walther of Imperial College Business School in the United Kingdom. In their November 2017 paper, “Predictably Unequal? The Effects of Machine Learning on Credit Markets,” the team found that black and Hispanic borrowers are likely to be disproportionately and negatively impacted by the use of machine learning in decisions to extend mortgage credit.

The Society for Human Resource Management has named Denise Marie-Therese Rousseau as the recipient of its 2019 Michael R. Losey Excellence in Human Resource Research Award. Rousseau was recognized for her research in the areas of evidence-based management and practice, organizational culture and change, psychological contracts, and idiosyncratic deals. Rousseau is the H.J. Heinz II University Professor of Organizational Behavior and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon University’s Heinz College of Public Policy in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. She holds a joint appointment in the Tepper School of Business.

The Institute for Business & Social Impact at the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley, has awarded its 2019 Moskowitz Prize to Rui Dai, senior research support director in Research Data Services at the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia; Hao Liang, assistant professor of finance at Singapore Management University; and Lilian Ng, Scotiabank Chair in International Finance at York University Schulich School of Business in Canada. They were recognized for their paper, “Socially Responsible Corporate Customers,” which is forthcoming in the Journal of Financial Economics.

Last fall, the U.S.-based Association of Public and Land-grant Universities named winners of its Innovation& Economic Prosperity University Awards. Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan, won the IEP Talent award for initiatives in education and workforce development; the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor won the IEP Innovation award for initiatives spurring innovation, entrepreneurship, and tech-based economic development; Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana, won the IEP Place award for initiatives resulting in social, cultural, or community development; and North Carolina State University in Raleigh won the top prize, the IEP Economic Engagement Connections award, for overall excellence.