Honors and Awards

Recognition for people and institutions.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel to Abhijit Banerjee, the Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, Massachusetts; Esther Duflo, an economics professor at MIT; and Michael Kremer, the Gates Professor of Developing Societies in the department of economics at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The three won the Nobel Prize “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.” Duflo is the second woman to be awarded a Nobel Prize in economics.

Last fall, the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) recognized innovative accounting educators with the 2019 Effective Learning Strategies Awards, which are co-sponsored by Grant Thornton and the Federation of Schools of Accountancy. Stephanie Grimm of the University of St. Thomas won the Bea Sanders/AICPA 2019 Teaching Innovation Award. The George Krull/Grant Thornton 2019 Teaching Innovation Award went to Ethan Kinory at Rutgers University–Camden in New Jersey, Kimberly Church of the University of Missouri– Kansas City, and Sean Stein Smith of Lehman College. Mahendra Gujarathi of Bentley University received the Mark Chain/FSA 2019 Teaching Innovation Award. View the full list of winners.

Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers has recognized Saras Sarasvathy with its Legacy Impact Award for her impactful work in the field of entrepreneurship. Sarasvathy received the honor for her research in effectuation, a framework for building successful entrepreneurial ventures. Sarasvathy holds two appointments: She is the Paul H. Hammaker Professor of Business Administration at the University of Virginia Darden School of Business in Charlottesville and the Jamuna Raghavan Chair Professor in Entrepreneurship at the Indian Institute of Management in Bangalore.

Two schools have received 2019 WRDS–SSRN Innovation Awards. Southampton Business School at the University of Southampton in the U.K. received the award for the Europe, Middle East, and Africa region. The National University of Singapore Business School was recognized in the Asia Pacific region. The WRDS-SSRN Innovation Award was created by Wharton Research Data Services and the Social Science Research Network to recognize emerging business schools that are advancing impact-focused research.

Two schools have won 2019 Innovator Awards from the MBA Roundtable, a nonprofit organization dedicated to sharing information about MBA curricula. The award for early-stage innovation went to the Asia School of Business in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, for its action learning program. The award for established innovation went to Colorado State University in Fort Collins for its Global Social and Sustainable Enterprise MBA.