Transitions | August 2020

New leadership comes to EM Lyon, Kedge, Suffolk, and others, and a new executive-in-residence is named at the Rotman School.
transitions Alexandre-de-NavaillesAlexandre de Navailles has been appointed head of Kedge Business School in France. De Navailles previously was president of Hertz France, where he focused on developing disruptive, digital, and eco-responsible offerings. For the last three years, he has been an ambassador for the Dauphine Foundation, which supports advancement in higher education by financing strategic and innovative projects.


transitions Amy ZengAmy Zeng has been named dean of Suffolk University’s Sawyer Business School in Boston, Massachusetts, where she will take up her new role in late July. Zeng most recently was dean of the Barney School of Business at the University of Hartford in Connecticut. There she spearheaded an initiative to start an Experiential Learning Alliance focused on deepening the school’s collaborations with corporate and community partners and the wider University of Hartford campus. She also upgraded the school’s Career Ready program at the undergraduate level and expanded the online graduate curriculum.

transitions Llorens Jared

Jared Llorens has been named interim dean of the E.J. Ourso College of Business at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge. The search for a permanent dean was paused due to the coronavirus pandemic. Llorens is chair of the department of public administration, holder of the John W. Dupuy Endowed Professorship, and associate editor of Public Administration Review. transitions dean whiteHis predecessor, Richard White, retired in June after serving 22 years at LSU, eight years as dean. During his tenure, the school opened the Office of Business Student Success to provide centralized student services; added new academic offerings such as an online MBA, a master’s in analytics, and a concentration in digital marketing; and opened the Professional Sales Institute.

Transitions Alan Eisner dean of Clark UniversityClark University in Worcester, Massachusetts, has appointed Alan Eisner as the new dean of its School of Management. Eisner comes from the Lubin School of Business at Pace University, where he has served on the faculty since 1997 and most recently was its associate dean for graduate programs. Eisner will start his new role in September. He succeeds Priscilla Elsass, who has served as the school's dean since January 2019. She will remain on the school's faculty as an associate professor of management.

Isabelle Huault has been named president of the executive board of EM Lyon Business School in France. She comes to EM Lyon after serving as president of the Université Paris Dauphine-PSL. Huault, who succeeds Tugrul Atamer, takes her new post at the beginning of the next academic year.

Peter Dey, chairman of Paradigm Capital, is the newest executive-in-residence at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management in Ontario, Canada. He will co-chair a project revisiting the guidance for good governance in the light of 21st-century realities and the global COVID-19 pandemic. The project will examine global best practices for corporate boards through a review of scholarly research, research roundtables, debates, and stakeholder consultations. This project is sponsored by the Rotman School’s Michael Lee-Chin Family Institute for Corporate Citizenship. The project will be co-chaired by Sarah Kaplan, who has been appointed a fellow of the Lee-Chin Institute.

In June, Charles Hoffman stepped down after seven years as dean of the College of Business at the University of Missouri in St. Louis. He will stay on at the institution as executive-in-residence and will rejoin the Chancellor’s Council to act as a liaison with the business community and aid in fundraising.

The Consortium for Graduate Study in Management, a national nonprofit organization focused on diversity and inclusion in American business, has named Vallabh “Samba” Sambamurthy its new chairman of the board of trustees. Sambamurthy is the Albert O. Nicholas Dean at the Wisconsin School of Business at the University of Wisconsin in Madison.