Case Centre Announces 2019 Case Writing Winners

Awards are given to schools and individuals that produce  outstanding cases.

THE CASE CENTRE has announced the winners in its 29th competition for excellence in case writing and teaching at schools of business, management, and government worldwide. The Overall Winning Case award went to “Accor: Strengthening the Brand with Digital Marketing” by Jill Avery of Harvard Business School, Chekitan Dev of Cornell University, and Peter O’Connor of ESSEC Business School.

This year, the competition introduced an award for Outstanding Compact Case. The inaugural winner was “Turbulence on the Tarmac,” a cartoon case created by Debapratim Purkayastha of ICFAI Business School, along with illustrator Sid Ghosh.

Four honors were given to individuals deemed outstanding in some element of case writing. Vijaya Narapareddy Zinnoury of the Daniels College of Business at the University of Denver won the award for Outstanding Contribution to the Case Method, while David Wood of the Ivey Business School at Western University was named Outstanding Case Teacher. The award for Outstanding Case Writer went to Karthik Ramanna, Vidhya Muthuram, and Sarah McAra of the Blavatnik School of Government at the University of Oxford; and the award for Outstanding New Case Writer went to João Silva and José Azevedo-Pereira of the ISEG Lisbon School of Economics & Management. Ten more awards were given out in specific subject areas.

This year’s winners include five schools and 23 individuals who won for the first time, showcasing the growing diversity of case writers, according to organizers of the competition. “Award-winning cases were taught in 103 schools in 34 countries,” notes Richard McCracken, director of The Case Centre. “The fact that more individual authors are winning case awards bears testament to the widespread dedication of faculty to bring students around the world topical, relevant, and innovative classroom materials.”

View the full list of winners.