Honors and Awards

Fred Phillips has received the 2017 N.D. Kondratieff Medal (the gold medal) from the Russian Academy of Sciences. ...view all

Fred Phillips has received the 2017 N.D. Kondratieff Medal (the gold medal) from the Russian Academy of Sciences. Phillips is a distinguished professor and associate dean of Yuan Ze University’s College of Management in Taoyuan City, Taiwan. The academy issues the prize every three years to a scholar who has made significant contributions to the social sciences.

Two professors have won the 2017 Nick Tyrrell Research Prize awarded by the European real estate associations INREV, IPF, and SPR. Avis Devine of the Schulich School of Business at York University in Toronto, Ontario, and Erkan Yonder of Ozyegin University in Istanbul, Turkey, won for their paper “Decomposing the Value Effects of Sustainable Real Estate Investment: International Evidence.”

The Medical Industry Leadership Institute at the University of Minnesota’s Carlson School of Management in Minneapolis has won the MBA Roundtable’s 2017 Innovator Award. The school was recognized for its Medical Industry Valuation Lab, which brings together cross-disciplinary student teams to assess medical innovations and streamline the time to market for critical new products. Finalists for 2017 were the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s MOOC-based stackable MBA and the University of Alabama’s STEM Path to the MBA Program.

The Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers (GCEC) has announced winners in its annual competition to honor university entrepreneurship programs. Oulu University of Applied Sciences won for Excellence in Entrepreneurship & Pedagogical Innovation; Villanova University and the University of Cincinnati for Exceptional Activities in Entrepreneurship Across Disciplines; the University of Chicago for Outstanding Contribution to Venture Creation; CUNY Graduate School of Journalism for Excellence in Specialty Entrepreneurship Education; and Texas A&M University for Outstanding Student Engagement and Leadership. In addition, the University of Tampa was named the NASDAQ Center for Entrepreneurial Excellence, and the University of New Hampshire and Hofstra University were honored for having Outstanding Emerging Entrepreneurship Centers. For a complete list of winners and finalists, visit www.globalentrepreneurshipconsortium.org/gcec-awards.

Winners have been announced in the 2017 CEEMAN Case Competition, which featured cases focused on developing and emerging markets. The top prize went to “Codezin: Braving the Startup Storm” by Gaurav Gupta of the Indian Institute of Management Calcutta and Shounak Pal and Indranil Biswas of the Indian Institute of Management Lucknow. The first runner-up was a case called “From Asia to Africa: The International Expansion of Hon Chuan Enterprise” written by Allan K.K. Chan and Caleb Chen from Hong Kong Baptist University. The second runner-up was “Smokey Tours: The Other Side of Manila” by Andrea Santiago and Fernando Martin Roxas of the Asian Institute of Management in the Philippines.

Wharton Research Data Services has announced that the University of Gothenburg in Sweden has won the WRDS-SSRN Innovation Award for the Europe, Middle East, and Asia region.