Honors and Awards

David Beatty has received a lifetime achievement award from the International Corporate Governance Network. ...View All

David Beatty has received a lifetime achievement award from the International Corporate Governance Network. Beatty is chairman and Conway Director of the Clarkson Centre for Business Ethics and Board Effectiveness at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management in Ontario.

During its 2018 conference, the CFP Board Center for Financial Planning recognized recipients of a series of best paper awards. The TD Ameritrade Best Paper Award in Behavioral Finance went to Cary Frydman of the University of Southern California and Baolian Wang of Fordham University; the Northwestern Mutual Best Paper Award in Insurance/Risk Management was given to Vickie L. Bajtelsmit and Tianyang Wang, both of Colorado State University; and the Merrill Lynch Student Best Paper Award went to Pavel Brendler of the University of Wisconsin. The CFP Board Center for Financial Planning also gave out two of its own awards. Best Paper in Consumer Finance went to John E. Grable, Amy Hubble, and Michelle Kruger of the University of Georgia; and the award for Best Paper in Investments went to Mark Fedenia of the University of Wisconsin–Madison, Hilla Skiba of Colorado State University, and Tatyana Sokolyk of Brock University.

Earlier this year, the Aspen Institute Business & Society Program announced the 20 winners of its Ideas Worth Teaching Awards, which recognize exceptional courses in the categories of corporate purpose and leadership, the economy, environmental sustainability, and employment and social sustainability. The organization recognized courses at Audencia Business School, Stony Brook University, the University of New South Wales, the University of Virginia, the University of Pennsylvania, George Washington University, Northeastern University, Tel Aviv University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Georgetown University, Western University, Harvard University, McGill University, Duquesne University, the University of Michigan (which won two awards), Cornell University, Yale University, the University of Wisconsin–Madison, and Wake Forest University. To see details about the winning courses, visit www.ideasworthteachingawards.com.