On July 1st, Xavier Ordeñana became the new dean of the ESPAE Graduate School of Management at Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral in Guayaquil, Ecuador. ...View all

Paul E. Jensen has been named dean of Drexel University’s LeBow College of Business in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Jensen joined the college’s economics faculty in 1997 and has served in a variety of leadership and administrative roles, including that of interim dean.

Donald E. Gibson has been appointed dean of Manhattan College’s O’Malley School of Business in New York City. Gibson previously held leadership roles at Fairfield University as vice provost for academic affairs and dean of Fairfield’s Dolan School of Business.

Harry Dombroski, a senior vice president at Hunt Consolidated and Hunt Oil Co., has been appointed dean of the University of Texas at Arlington College of Business. In his former position, Dombroski managed Hunt’s capital and investment decisions and led several financing and business development initiatives.

On July 1st, Xavier Ordeñana became the new dean of the ESPAE Graduate School of Management at Escuela Superior Politécnica del Litoral in Guayaquil, Ecuador. Ordeñana had previously served as the school’s academic director, the equivalent of associate dean. He takes over the position from Virginia Lasio, who is stepping down as ESPAE’s director, a position she has held for the last 15 years. Under Lasio’s tenure, ESPAE earned business accreditation from AACSB International, adopted a new strategic plan emphasizing sustainability, launched a master’s degree program in agribusiness, and collaborated with the World Bank and local government to support regional innovation. Lasio will continue as a member of ESPAE’s faculty, focusing on entrepreneurship, innovation, and decision making.

On July 9, James Padilla became dean of the newly established Francis J. Noonan School of Business at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa. Padilla most recently was associate dean and associate professor of the School of Business Administration at Marymount University in Arlington, Virginia.

Matthew Rousu has been named dean of Susquehanna University’s Sigmund Weis School of Business in Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania. Rousu, who first joined the business school in 2004 as an assistant professor of economics, has been serving as interim dean since May 2017.

Linda Oubré, dean of the College of Business at San Francisco State University, has been named president of Whittier College in California. She will be the first person of color to lead the liberal arts college, where more than 65 percent of the students are also people of color. As dean at San Francisco State, Oubré led curriculum reform, launched a new EMBA program, and more than tripled fundraising efforts.

To strengthen the collaboration between its Rady School of Management and its Jacobs School of Engineering, the University of California in San Diego has awarded a pair of Jacobs Family Chairs in Engineering Management Leadership to two professors leading the UC San Diego Institute for the Global Entrepreneur. The awardees are Sujit Dey, an electrical and computer engineering professor; and Vish Krishnan, a professor in the Rady School. The professorships are reserved for faculty with joint appointments between the two schools.