Aspen Institute Honors Innovators

The organization announces its 2016 Faculty Pioneer Award winners.
The Aspen Institute Business and Society program has announced its Faculty Pioneer Award recipients for 2016. This year’s winners are business professors teaching about the pressing “grand challenges” faced by the world today, including climate change, inequality, global health, financial inclusion, human rights, resource scarcity, and economic development.

Among the honorees are two who received special award distinctions. Ted London, vice president and senior research fellow of the Scaling Impact Initiative at the William Davidson Institute of the University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business, received the Special Award Distinction for Field-Building. Peter Tufano, Peter Moores Dean and professor of finance at the Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford in the U.K., received the Special Award Distinction for Institutional Leadership.

The other winners were Gaurab Bhardwaj, associate professor of strategy and management at Babson College; Andrew J. Hoffman, Holcim Professor of Sustainable Enterprise at the Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan; Nora Silver, adjunct professor and faculty director of the Center for Social Sector Leadership at the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley; and a faculty team from the Gordon Institute of Business Science at the University of Pretoria, which included Anthony Wilson-Prangley, Ngao Motsei, Jonathan Cook, Margie Sutherland, and Morris Mthombeni.

The Faculty Pioneer Awards were established in 1999 to celebrate educators who help develop curricula that deeply examine the relationships between capital markets, firms, and the public good.

For information about the winners and their teaching approaches, visit