AOM Professors Recieve Recognition

In August, the Academy of Management honored business professors with its 2016 All-Academy Awards, which were presented at the organization’s Annual Meeting in Anaheim, California.
The Career Achievement Awards were presented to Thomas William Lee of the University of Washington, who received the Distinguished Service Award; and Denise M. Rousseau of Carnegie Mellon, who received the Distinguished Award for Scholarly Contributions to Management. The George R. Terry Book Award, which goes to the author of a book that has made the most outstanding contribution in the past two years, went to Charles Heckscher of Rutgers Uni­versity for Trust in a Complex World: Enriching Community.

Also presented were two 2016 Annual Meeting Program Awards for papers nominated by the Academy’s Divisions and Interest Groups. This year, Aruna Ranganathan of Stanford University won the William H. Newman Award for “The Artisan and His Audience: Identification with Work and Price-Setting in Southern India.” The Carolyn B. Dexter Award went to Mattia Anesa, Nicole Gillespie, and A. Paul Spee of the University of Queensland and Kerrie Sadiq of the Queensland University of Technology for “Field-Level Legitimization of Corporate Tax Minimization.”

In addition, 21 professors received ten journal awards; details can be found online at

At the meeting, eight scholars also were inducted into AOM’s Fellows Group, which recognizes those who have made significant contributions to the science and practice of management. They are: Don Siegel of the University at Albany; David Harrison of the University of Texas in Austin; Pamela Tolbert of Cor­nell University; Ronald Burt of the University of Chicago in Illinois; Belle Rose Ragins of the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee; Laurie Weingart of Carn­egie Mellon University; Carrie Leana of the University of Pittsburgh; and Ruth Kanfer of the Georgia Institute of Technology.