Honors and Awards

View b-school honors and awards.
June 2, 2016—The Wharton-Jacobs Levy Prize for Quantitative Financial Innovation was recently awarded to Nobel Laureate William F. Sharpe at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania’s Spring Forum, held at the Jacobs Levy Equity Management Center for Quantitative Financial Research. Sharpe, the STANCO 25 Professor of Finance, Emeritus, at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business, received the award based on his work in returns-based style analysis.

June 1, 2016—Thami Ghorfi, dean of ESCA Ecole de Management in Casablanca, Morocco, recently received the Africa Economy Builders Award. Established in 2007, the award is presented at an annual ceremony recognizing individuals who contribute to economic growth in Africa. Ghorfi was recognized for his school's contributions to research and management education for African business leaders and entrepreneurs, as well as for its founding of INSEAM, a consortium of 14 academic institutions that generates collaborative research focused on strengthening the African economy and infrastructure.

April 28, 2016—Daniel Trefler, professor of business economics and J. Douglas and Ruth Grant Canada Research Chair in Competitiveness and Prosperity at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management, will receive a Killam Prize for his research contributions on international trade, innovation, and competitiveness. The award is funded by the Killam Trust and granted by the Canada Council for the Arts.

April 28, 2016—The Bank of Canada recently announced the recipients of two awards offered through its Fellowship Program, which encourages leading-edge research and the development of expertise in Canada. Daniel Trefler, from the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto, and Francesco Trebbi, from the University of British Columbia’s Vancouver School of Economics, received the 2016 Fellowship Award. Liyan Yang, also of the Rotman School of Management, was honored with the 2016 Governor’s Award.

April 12, 2016—Herbert Jack Rotfeld, a marketing professor in Auburn University’s Raymond J. Harbert College of Business, has been named a fellow by the American Academy of Advertising. The award recognizes lifetime achievement in the advancement of advertising scholarship and education, as well as service to the academic discipline. Rotfeld, author of the book “Adventures in Misplaced Marketing,” has served as editor of the Journal of Consumer Affairs and as president, treasurer, and publications committee chair for the American Academy of Advertising.

March 29, 2016—Allen Lee, a professor in the School of Business at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) in Richmond, Virginia, recently accepted the highest award in his field—the LEO Award for Lifetime Exceptional Achievement in Information Systems. The award is given to distinguished members of the research community whose contributions have changed the field and influenced others. Lee grew up in Chinatown, New York City, as a child of Chinese immigrants, and he learned the value of hard work at a very early age. It’s this connection to the difficult lessons learned in his youth that he tries to pass on to his students at VCU every day. Lee’s prominence in the information systems research world has had substantial impact. His 1989 article in MIS Quarterly establishing the credibility of qualitative research in his field has since been cited in other research more than 1,400 times.

March 28, 2016—The Kiel Institute for World Affairs in Germany recently awarded the Global Economy Prize to Nobel Prize Laureate and University of California Berkeley Haas School of Business professor emeritus Oliver Williamson. The Kiel Institute, a European think tank devoted to economics, recognized Williamson for his lifelong work in economics. Williamson's groundbreaking work in the field led to a Nobel Prize in Economics in 2009. Williamson, 83, is credited with coining the term “new institutional economics” in 1975, when he was a professor at the University of Pennsylvania. He later taught at Yale University before moving in 1988 to Berkeley, where he has held professorships in business administration, economics, and law. Williamson is now the Edgar F. Kaiser Professor Emeritus at Haas.

March 7, 2016—Winners have been announced in the 26th annual Case Centre Awards and Competition, which recognizes outstanding case writers and teachers from across the globe.
The Overall Winning Case was authored by Haiyang Yang at Johns Hopkins Carey Business School in Baltimore, Maryland, and by Pierre Chandon at INSEAD in Fontainebleau, France. In addition, Chandon won the Outstanding Contribution to the Case Method Award, while Anita Elberse of Harvard Business School in Boston, Massachusetts, won the Outstanding Case Teacher competition. Iddo Dror, Shreya Maheshwari, and Andrew Mude of the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI) in Nairobi, Kenya, won the Outstanding New Case Writer award. Wolfgang Ulaga and Athanasios Kondis of IMD in Lausanne, Switzerland, took the award for Outstanding Case Writer on a “Hot Topic”—in this case, East Meets West.

Awards also were handed out in nine management categories. This year, Harvard Business School won three category awards; ICFAI Business School in Hyderabad, India, won two; and six schools won one apiece: INSEAD; HEC Paris; Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago; Institute of Management Technology, Ghaziabad, in India; the University of Western Ontario’s Ivey Business School in Canada; and BTA/Pontificia Universidade Católica de Minas Gerais (PUCMG) in Belo Horizonte, Brazil.

Organizers noted that this year’s winning cases tended to focus on multinational companies, especially those rooted in new media and technology, such as Netflix and Uber. In addition, cases studied new and alternative approaches to technology and business leadership at companies such as the New York Times and Tesla Motors. Together, the winning cases had been used by 84 business schools, universities, and institutions in 30 countries. View the complete list of winners.